ODAC Announces 2009 All-ODAC Teams

ODAC Announces 2009 All-ODAC Teams

WLU's St. John Nabs Two Major Awards, McCabe Top Coach

SALEM, Va. --- Washington and Lee University, fresh off its victory in the ODAC championship game, added five first team honors and three major awards through the ODAC's all-conference voting for men's lacrosse.  The Generals' Harry St. John tops the list as he garnered a pair of individual awards as he was named the ODAC Player of the Year and the ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete, the latter award determined by a vote of the league's sports information directors.  Washington and Lee mentor Gene McCabe was tabbed the ODAC Coach of the Year, and Lynchburg College freshman Dylan Hoff was selected as the ODAC Rookie of the Year.

St. John's season continues to improve with the NCAA Division III Tournament still awaiting for he and his teammates.  St. John notched the game-winning goal in overtime to send the Generals past Roanoke in the ODAC title game.  He recorded six points in that game, scoring four goals to go with a pair of assists to increase his season point total to 35.  St. John scored 26 goals and handed out nine helpers on the season from his midfield position.

In the classroom, St. John boasts a 3.522 grade point average while majoring in politics.  The preseason Honorable Mention All-American is a Washington and Lee scholar and a former member of the All-ODAC Academic Team.

McCabe led the Generals to their ninth overall ODAC men's lacrosse championship, their first since 2004.  The Generals have been ranked in the USILA top-25 for most of the campaign, climbing as high as No. 5 in the April 13th poll.  On the way to its 15-3 record, Washington and Lee enjoyed an eight-game winning streak to start the season, and finished the year having won three straight going into the national tournament.

Hoff ended his first season at Lynchburg ranked No. 9 in the ODAC in points with 48 (3.0 per game).  He posted team second-highest marks in both goals scored (32) and assists (16) while also notching six man-up goals.  He also tallied a pair of game-winners.

Listed below are the full 2009 All-ODAC Men's Lacrosse Teams.  For more information on ODAC men's lacrosse, visit any of the participating school's websites or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at www.odaconline.com.

2009 All-ODAC Men's Lacrosse Teams
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Harry St. John, Washington and Lee
COACH OF THE YEAR: Gene McCabe, Washington and Lee
ROOKIE OF YEAR: Dylan Hoff, Lynchburg
ODAC/FARM BUREAU SCHOLAR-ATHLETE: Harry St. John, Washington and Lee

Will Keigler, Washington and Lee
Pat March, Roanoke
Zach Thomas, Roanoke
Tyler Tolson, Lynchburg

Chas Carlson, Roanoke
Kyle Jett, Hampden-Sydney
Harry St. John, Washington and Lee

Short-Stick Specialist
Seldon Clarke, Washington and Lee (short stick)

Long-Stick Specialist
Stephen Simmons, Roanoke (long stick)

Sam Love, Roanoke
Dan Martin, Hampden-Sydney
Shane Roscher, Lynchburg
James Shanahan, Washington and Lee

Connor Locke, Washington and Lee

Seth Fishman, Washington and Lee
Andrew Mahoney, Hampden-Sydney
Mike Mundorf, Lynchburg
Matt Quinton, Roanoke

Eddie Bilinkas, Lynchburg
Brian Foley, Roanoke
Drew Langis, Virginia Wesleyan
Tim Skeen, Washington and Lee

Short-Stick Specialist
Justin Tuma, Roanoke (short stick)

Gates Benson, Guilford
Alex Burkhead, Roanoke
Jeff Eggeling, Lynchburg
Tyler Smith, Washington and Lee

Jake Dorsey, Roanoke

Tad Baker, Washington and Lee
Kyle Boylan, Guilford
Franc Cook, Lynchburg
Patrick Egan, Randolph-Macon
Ethan Farrell, Lynchburg
Micah Keller, Hampden-Sydney
Tyler Midwinter, Randolph-Macon