W&L Sweeps Women's Lacrosse Awards

W&L Sweeps Women's Lacrosse Awards

Mathews Honored Twice, Diamond and Van Horn Recognized

 FOREST, Va. --- Washington and Lee University turned its undefeated conference schedule and 12th ODAC title into a bevy of awards as the Generals captured each of the individual honors as part of the 2011 All-ODAC Women’s Lacrosse Teams.  Emmy Mathews garnered a pair of accolades as she was tabbed the ODAC Player of the Year and the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete, the latter a distinction she’s won each of the past two seasons.  W&L mentor Brooke Diamond was named the ODAC Coach of the Year, and Alex Van Horn was selected as the ODAC Rookie of the Year.

Mathews, a senior from Baltimore, Md., adds this year’s top player honor, All-ODAC First Team designation and the scholar-athlete award to first team selections from 2009 and 2010.  This season, she helped the Generals corral their third conference championship in Mathews’ four years in Lexington.  Mathews, who sets the tone both on offense and defense for Washington and Lee, sits sixth in the league with 69 points on 54 goals and 15 assists.  She has scored three game-winning goals and notched 10 free-position tallies.  In the conference championship game against Roanoke College, she scored a game and career-high eight goals.  Defensively, Mathews caused 18 turnovers and picked up 28 groundballs.

In the classroom, Mathews maintains a 3.887 grade point average as a Philosophy and Business Administration double-major.  She is a three-time honoree on the All-ODAC Academic Team, as well as being a W&L Scholar-Athlete.  She was named to the ESPN/CoSIDA District III College Division Academic All-District Second Team in 2010.  Mathews is a member of Omicron Delta Kappa (leadership) and Phi Eta Sigma (freshman) honor societies as well as Kathekon, Washington and Lee’s student alumni association.  In 2009, Mathews was one of three statewide winners of the Virginia Foundation of Independent Colleges (VFIC)/Norfolk Southern Scholarship.

Diamond, in her fourth season at Washington and Lee, has won three league titles during her tenure.  The Generals have claimed eight of the last nine ODAC crowns on the way to a record 12 conference championships.  Enjoying her second ODAC top coaching honor, Diamond owns a 58-17 overall record and 32-1 league mark heading into Wednesday’s matchup with Christopher Newport University in the first round of the NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Tournament.

Van Horn, a freshman from Annapolis, Md., is fifth on the Generals’ statistics lists with 30 points on 22 goals and eight assists this season.  She is currently atop the conference charts in draw controls, having captured 99 draws for a 5.44 per game average.  Twice she racked up double-digit draw controls, including an ODAC season-best 18 in the league title game against Roanoke.

Listed below are the complete 2011 All-ODAC Women’s Lacrosse Teams.  For more information, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC’s home on the Internet at www.odaconline.com

ODAC Player of the Year: Emmy Mathews, Washington and Lee
ODAC Coach of the Year: Brooke Diamond, Washington and Lee
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Alex Van Horn, Washington and Lee
ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Emmy Mathews, Washington and Lee

All-ODAC First Team
Lesley Buckingham, Lynchburg
Erin Clare Cassidy, Randolph-Macon
Wilton Megargel, Washington and Lee

Tara Harding, Virginia Wesleyan
Morgan Logue, Lynchburg
Emmy Mathews, Washington and Lee
Meegan Rourke, Roanoke
Gina Valles, Roanoke

Christina Benedetti, Washington and Lee
Melissa Madalon, Roanoke
Emily McMillan, Lynchburg

Christina Tran, Lynchburg

All-ODAC Second Team
Kendall Adkin, Lynchburg
Kelly Egan, Randolph-Macon
Carolyn Miller, Roanoke

Natalie Belva, Virginia Wesleyan
Elyse Cooper, Randolph-Macon
Summer Frazier, Guilford
Sarah Shannon, Lynchburg
Kathleen Wager, Roanoke
Courtney Williams, Virginia Wesleyan

Allison Buckley, Virginia Wesleyan
Katie Oliver, Guilford
Leanne Stone, Washington and Lee

Katharine Farrar, Washington and Lee

All-ODAC Honorable Mention
Erica Bruce, Hollins
Taylor Chamberlain, Bridgewater
E’leyna Garcia, Guilford
Nikki Salyers, Virginia Wesleyan

D.J. Abernathy, Sweet Briar
Sarah Bradburd, Guilford
Ashley Edwards, Randolph
Stewart Hulfish, Sweet Briar
Rachel Johnsen, Randolph-Macon

Jackie Bond, Randolph-Macon
Kathy Brown, Washington and Lee
Stephanie Serena, Randolph-Macon

Liza Mettler, Guilford