Lynchburg Defeats Washington and Lee to Win ODAC Men's Soccer Title

2017 ODAC Men's Soccer Champion -- Lynchburg College

LYNCHBURG, Va. --- Top-seeded Lynchburg College scored an early goal in both halves to pave the way to a 2-1 victory over Washington and Lee University in the ODAC men's soccer championship game on Sunday afternoon at Shellenberger Field in Lynchburg. The win marks the Hornets ODAC record 16th overall and second straight men's soccer crown.

Lynchburg also earns the ODAC's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Men's Soccer Tournament. The Hornets, in addition to any at-large selections ODAC teams may earn, will learn their national stage positions when the field of 62 teams is announced on Monday at 1:30 p.m. ET on

RELATED: All-Time ODAC Championships

Fans didn't have to wait long for the scoreboard to move as Jack Ashby put the home side ahead less that six minutes into the contest. He headed home a feed from Jon Mackey with 5:55 on the clock for an ealry 1-0 lead.

The remainder of the first have was pretty even with both sides creating chances. W&L's Gillen Beck was the lone keeper to register a save in the open frame, however, as he turned back a pair of LC efforts.

Lynchburg's second goal came just 19-seconds from the intermission. Fredy Flores picked up his ninth goal of the season off a richochet on an attempted clearance.

Despite the goal, it was Washington and Lee that was on the front foot for the better part of the half. The Generals sent 12 shots towards LC's goal, forcing a distinct change in workload for keeper Dylan McLaurin. The senior shot-stopper lived up to that moniker with seven saves.

Washington and Lee did pull one goal back late-on as Tyler Runge deposited home a feed from Dylan Ritch into the lower corner with 86:54 of the contest complete. The Generals managed one more effort on LC's goal in the final minutes, but McLaurin saved Harry Pinkerton's effort.

Travis Brown, Randolph
Frankie DiOrio, Randolph
Brian Breslin, Randolph-Macon
Christian Torres, Randolph-Macon
Oliver Dolberg, Washington and Lee
Will Hamryka, Washingotn and Lee
Sterling Kirk, Washington and Lee
Nate Berning, Lynchburg
Bhayle Kearns, Lynchburg
Austin Kues, Lynchburg
Dylan McLaurin, Lynchburg