Saluting the Fall Scholar-Athletes

Saluting the Fall Scholar-Athletes

Continuing a 'Partnership in Excellence'

SALEM, Va. --- The ODAC and Farm Bureau Insurance have built a strong relationship over the past few years, emphasizing the importance of the complete student-athlete experience at the NCAA Division III level.  That "Partnership in Excellence" continued this fall as the ODAC and Farm Bureau salute the eight winners of the 2009 ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Awards from the fall athletic campaigns.

The ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Award is given to a student-athlete in each of the conference's 22 sponsored sports.  Farm Bureau Insurance of Virginia is the presenter of each of the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Awards.  To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be at least a sophomore standing and have spent at least one full academic year at the nominating institution, must maintain at least a 3.2 cumulative grade point average, and must have participated in at least 50-percent of the team's events.  The awards are selected in a vote of the conference's sports information directors.

Listed and linked below are each of the winners from the ODAC's seven fall sports (two for football due to a tie in voting).  To learn more about each athlete, click the his or her associated link.

MEN'S CROSS COUNTRY: Robert Warneford-Thomson, Washington and Lee University

WOMEN'S CROSS COUNTRY: Ashley Meyer, Lynchburg College

FIELD HOCKEY: Karissa Sauder, Eastern Mennonite University

FOOTBALL: Greg Kurkis, Washington and Lee University

FOOTBALL: Josh Miller, Hampden-Sydney College

MEN'S SOCCER: Stephen Legg, Lynchburg College

WOMEN'S SOCCER: Mary Dunn, Eastern Mennonite University

VOLLEYBALL: Rebecca Leedom Bradford, Virginia Wesleyan College