Maroons' Lachlan Leads All-ODAC Men's Lacrosse Teams

Maroons' Lachlan Leads All-ODAC Men's Lacrosse Teams

RC's Pilat, VWC's Currier, W&L's LaSala also Honored

FOREST, Va. --- Roanoke College attack Richard Lachlan headlines the 2013 ODAC Men's Lacrosse Awards after being named the ODAC Player of the Year.  Maroons' mentor Bill Pilat was tabbed the ODAC Coach of the Year, while Virginia Wesleyan College attack Josh Currier earned ODAC Rookie of the Year laurels.  Washington and Lee University defenseman Joe LaSala picked up his second straight ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Award in a vote of the league's sports information directors.

Lachlan, a senior from Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada, leads Roanoke and is fourth in the ODAC in points scored with 54 heading into the conference semifinals.  He's notched 43 goals, which is third in the conference.  He's notched at least one point in each of 16 games played, including a season-high nine (6 goals, 3 assists) in a non-conference win over the College of Wooster (18-6).  He's tied atop the conference with four game-winning goals, including the deciding tallies in one-goal wins over Stevenson University (14-13) and Washington and Lee (9-8).  Lachlan opened the year as Preseason Honorable Mention All-American by Inside Lacrosse magazine.

Pilat, in his 25th season on the Maroon's sidelines, enjoys his 10th ODAC top coaching honor as his squad is currently ranked seventh by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA).  He has Roanoke positioned at the top of the conference with a 13-3 overall record and a 9-0 mark in league action.  RC is seeded #1 in the ODAC postseason, affording it hosting rights for the semifinal and championship rounds.  Entering the semifinals, Pilat owns a 275-117 (.702) career record.

Currier, a freshman from Peterborough, Ontario, Canada, put together a record-setting first season at VWC as he became of the program's all-time single-season scoring leader with 74 points, ranking second in the conference.  He tops the league with 39 assists, which is the second-best mark in school history.  His 35 goals scored are sixth in the ODAC.  He was shutout in just two games this year, scoring a season-high seven points on three occasions against Greensboro (12-9), Shenandoah (17-3) and Randolph-Macon (16-17).

LaSala, a senior from Wilton, Conn., shines on and off the field for W&L.  He boasts a 3.688 grade point average as an Accounting major.  He is a W&L scholar as well as a multi-honoree on the All-ODAC Academic Team.  He is a member of Phi Beta Kappa (national academic) and Omicron Delta Kappa (national leadership) honor societies.  On the field, LaSala spearheads the conference's #1 defense in allowing 6.88 goals per game, which ranks 23rd in the country.  He tops the league with 38 caused turnovers and has picked up 28 groundballs.  A three-time All-ODAC First Team honoree, LaSala earned honorable mention USILA All-American each of the past two years and started this season as a Preseason Third Team All-American by Inside Lacrosse.

For more information on ODAC Men's Lacrosse, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at  Don't forget to become a fan of the ODAC on Facebook and follow the ODAC on Twitter at @odacathletics.

ODAC Player of the Year: Richard Lachlan, Sr., Att., Roanoke
ODAC Coach of the Year: Bill Pilat, Roanoke
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Josh Currier, Fr., Att., Virginia Wesleyan
ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Joe LaSala, Sr., Def. Washington and Lee

Josh Currier, Fr., Virginia Wesleyan
Richard Lachlan, Sr., Roanoke
Mac Means, Sr., Washington and Lee
Nick Pappas, Jr., Virginia Wesleyan

Vin Curran, Sr., Lynchburg
Conner Dubois, Sr., Roanoke
Max Voumard, Sr., Lynchburg

Long-Stick Midfielder
Brayden Gerrie, Sr., Roanoke

Short-Stick Specialist
Jared Mitchell, Jr., Washington and Lee

Andrew Fusselbaugh, Sr., Washington and Lee
John Gill, Jr., Lynchburg
Joe LaSala, Sr., Washington and Lee
Cameron Sheppard, Sr., Hampden-Sydney

Charles Pease, Jr., Roanoke

Jason Andrews, Jr., Randolph-Macon
Cameron Dabir, So., Washington and Lee
James Hughes, So., Hampden-Sydney
Ryan Martin, Sr., Hampden-Sydney

Thomas Armstrong, So., Hampden-Sydney
Mike Hayden, Sr., Roanoke
Garrett Paglia, So., Washington and Lee

Long-Stick Midfielder
Austin Black, Sr., Hampden-Sydney

Short-Stick Specialist
Brad Mostowy, Sr., Hampden-Sydney

Ned Bowden, Jr., Hampden-Sydney
Troy Grogan, Fr., Roanoke
Tommy Kestermann, Jr., Lynchburg
Brandon Kirklin, Sr., Virginia Wesleyan

Adam Davey, So., Lynchburg

Robert Fox, Fr., Randolph-Macon
Pat Ohrem, Sr., Lynchburg
Will Pilat, Fr., Roanoke
Austin Stewart, Fr., Lynchburg

Justin Butler, Jr., Randolph-Macon
Mikey Connors, Sr., Virginia Wesleyan
Jess Hawthorne, Sr., Hampden-Sydney

Long-Stick Midfielder
Noah Lessing, So., Washington and Lee

Short-Stick Specialist
Nick Benhoff, Fr., Randolph-Macon

Ryan Blackwell, Sr., Randolph
Nick Huckins, So., Guilford
Evan Leeder, So., Lynchburg
Wes Pancoast, So., Roanoke

David Noftsinger, So., Hampden-Sydney