W&L's Witherell Headlines ODAC Men's Lacrosse Awards

W&L's Witherell Headlines ODAC Men's Lacrosse Awards

LC's Koudelka, RC's Schwarz, BC's Mann Also Honored

FOREST, Va. --- Washington and Lee University attackman A.J. Witherell headlines the 2018 All-ODAC Men's Lacrosse Awards as the playmaker repeats as the ODAC Player of the Year. Lynchburg College mentor Steve Koudelka earned ODAC Coach of the Year laurels from his peers, while Roanoke College attackman Garritt Schwarz received ODAC Rookie of the Year recognition. Bridgewater College attackman Blake Mann garnered ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete honors from the conference's sports information directors.

Familiar faces are a common occurrence on this season's all-conference charts with 21 players appearing on the All-ODAC lists for at least the second straight year. That includes 13 standouts on the 16-member All-ODAC First Team. Witherell is joined by a pair of fellow Generals in face-off man Jack Hodgson and defenseman Kyle Gifford as repeat honorees. Hampden-Sydney College's trio of attackman Ian Levin, midfielder Hunter Brown, and defenseman Kent Henry also feature for a second straight season. Attackman Evan Lombardo and long-stick midfielder Seamus McDonald join that list, as well as Roanoke attackman Jason Sarro, midfielder IV Stucker, and defenseman Conn Curry.

Two players moved up to the first team from the 2017 All-ODAC Second Team. Lynchburg short-stick specialist Nick Willertz and Maroons' goalkeeper Ian Davies fill that bill.

RELATED: 2017 All-ODAC Teams | All-Time All-ODAC

Witherell, a junior from Wilmington, Del., has now earned a major all-conference honor in each of his three seasons in Lexington, pairing the past two top player honors with the ODAC's first-year award in 2016. Witherell finished atop the league charts in points thru the end of the ODAC Tournament looks to carry that further with Washington and Lee's continued participation in the NCAA Division III Tournaemnt. Including five points in the General's 23-5 victory over Transylvania University in the NCAA first round, Witherell tops the ODAC with 89 points on a conference second-best 58 goals and fourth-most 31 assists. He is also #1 in the league in overall shots (145) and shots on goal (102). Witherell has registered at least one point in each of 18 games played this season, including a campaign-best seven points on four different occasions. He notched four or more points 15 times. Witherell's career numbers thru three seasons are also impressive as he sits poised to enter the top-10 rankings in the ODAC record book for points, goals, and assists next season.

Koudelka just completed his 22nd season on the sidelines guiding Lynchburg's men's lacrosse program. He led LC to its seventh straight NCAA Tournament berth after winning three games as the fourth seed in the ODAC Tournament to lift the program's seventh conference trophy. This is his fifth ODAC top coaching honor, adding to awards he earned in 2003, 2005, 2011, and 2012. Following the program's 20th straight winning season (12-9), Koudelka owns a 273-120 (.695) career record.

Schwarz, a freshman from Tallahassee, Fla., is the second straight Maroon to earn top rookie honors following Sarro's award in 2017. Schwarz made his presence known from day one following nine points (eight goals) in a 15-10 season-opening victory over Colorado College. Although his first campaign finished early following an injury, Schwarz still ranked fifth in goals scored with 41 and eighth with 56 points. He tacked on 15 assists to his line. He registered at least three points in a game 10 times.

Mann, a senior from Felton, Del., pairs this honor with a selection to the All-ODAC Second Team as he stands out both on and off the field for the Eagles. In the classroom, Mann maintains a 3.941 grade point average as a health and exercise science major. A perennial member of the Bridgewater Dean's List as well as the All-ODAC Academic Team, Mann became the program's first-ever Academic All-State honoree by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID). On the field, Mann finished the season third in the ODAC with 50 goals scored and seventh with 61 points. He also dished out 11 assists. He scored at least one point in 16-of-17 games played with a season-high seven points on during three separate games. Mann will graduate as the Bridgewater all-time leader in points (189) and goals scored (161). He already owned the latter record entering the season.

Listed below are the full All-ODAC Men's Lacrosse Teams.  For more information, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at www.odaconline.com.  Don't forget to become a fan of the ODAC on Facebook and follow @odacathletics on Twitter and Instagram.

ODAC Player of the Year: A.J. Witherell, Jr., A, Washington and Lee University
ODAC Coach of the Year: Steve Koudelka, Lynchburg College
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Garritt Schwarz, Fr., A, Roanoke College
ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Blake Mann, Sr., A, Bridgewater College 

Ian Levin Attack Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Evan Lombardo Attack Jr. Lynchburg College
Jason Sarro Attack So. Roanoke College
A.J. Witherell Attack Jr. Washington and Lee University
Hunter Brown Midfield Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Hudson Hamill Midfield So. Washington and Lee University
Colin McGuire Midfield Sr. Lynchburg College
IV Stucker Midfield Sr. Roanoke College
Seamus McDonald Long-Stick Jr. Lynchburg College
Nick Willertz Short-Stick Jr. Lynchburg College
Jack Hodgson Face-Off So. Washington and Lee University
Conn Curry Defense Sr. Roanoke College
Kyle Gifford Defense Sr. Washington and Lee University
Kent Henry Defense Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Matt Meadows Defense Jr. Lynchburg College
Ian Davies Goalkeeper Jr. Roanoke College
Aswan Bland Attack Sr. Guilford College
Sam Dardani Attack Sr. Washington and Lee University
Blake Mann Attack Sr. Bridgewater College
Garritt Schwarz Attack Fr. Roanoke College
Michael Brooks Midfield Jr. Shenandoah University
Kyle Keepers Midfield Sr. Randolph-Macon College
Kevin Rogers Midfield So. Lynchburg College
Chandler Shaheen Midfield Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Tim Aldinger Long-Stick Jr. Roanoke College
Jed Londrey Short-Stick So. Washington and Lee University
Wilson Booth Face-Off Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
John Broderick Defense Jr. Washington and Lee University
Will Forrestal Defense Sr. Guilford College
Kyle Geblein Defense Sr. Randolph-Macon College
Robby Moore Defense Sr. Roanoke College
Mitch Renfrow Goalkeeper Jr. Hampden-Sydney College
Logan Adams Attack Jr. Lynchburg College
Connor Pool Attack Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Ryan Schott Attack Jr. Shenandoah University
Ryan Tiffey Attack So. Randolph-Macon College
John Burke Midfield Jr. Hampden-Sydney College
Prince Charles Midfield Jr. Randolph College
Brendan Devane Midfield Jr. Roanoke College
Jones Veith Midfield Sr. Washington and Lee University
Drew Barnard Long-Stick Jr. Washington and Lee University
Tyee Buttrey Short-Stick Sr. Randolph-Macon College
Craig Koester Face-Off Jr. Lynchburg College
Tyler Gallagher Defense So. Lynchburg College
Joey Russell Defense Sr. Roanoke College
Marshall Via Defense Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Canevin Wallace Defense Fr. Hampden-Sydney College
CJ Santora Goalkeeper Sr. Lynchburg College