Roanoke’s Eversole Earns ODAC Top Player Honor

VWC's Massie Best Rookie, LC's Yeager Coach of the Year

SALEM, Va. --- The 2006 Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) men's soccer standings saw a logjam throughout its listings this season, lending one of the most competitive seasons in recent years.  Roanoke College's Eric Eversole stood out among the rest in the eyes of the league coaches, earning the ODAC Player of the Year award.

Virginia Wesleyan College's Brandon Massie was tabbed the conference Rookie of the Year, helping a Marlins squad into the first round of the NCAA Division III National Tournament.  Lynchburg College mentor Chris Yeager was named the Coach of the Year after leading his Hornets to the 2006 ODAC tournament title.  Hampden-Sydney College strike Greg Smith earned the Scholar-Athlete Award.

Eversole, a junior from Blacksburg, Va., adds this year's All-ODAC First Team nod with one earned last season.  He finished tied for fourth in the conference with 19 total points in leading his team into the conference tournament as the top seed.  His eight goals were tops for the Maroons and also added a team-high tying three assists.

Massie, from Chesapeake, Va., was notched 14 points including six goals for the Marlins, but team second-bests.  Three times this season his tallies had direct effect on the outcome, tying for second in the conference with three game-winning goals.

Coach Yeager picks up his first conference top coaching honor.  He led his team to a 14-5-2 record and into the NCAA tournament for the first time since 1982.

HSC's Smith, a senior All-ODAC First Team honoree from Warrenton, Va., was second in the conference with 21 points including a league-best nine assists.  In the classroom, he boasts a 3.92 grade point average, majoring in mathematics and economics.

Listed below is the entire list of 2006 ODAC All-Conference Teams. 

2006 ODAC Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams

First Team:
Eric Eversole - Forward, Roanoke
Scott Meguid - Forward, Guilford
Brandon Massie - Forward, Virginia Wesleyan
Maurwyn Bowen - Forward, Lynchburg
Greg Smith - Midfield, Hampden-Sydney
Josh Dodds - Midfield, Washington & Lee
Matt Garofalo - Midfield, Randolph-Macon
Modou Jobarteh - Midfield, Lynchburg
Drew Jamison - Defender, Lynchburg
Scott Pittman - Defender, Washington & Lee
Elliott Anderson - Defender, Emory & Henry
EJ O'Keefe - Defender, Roanoke
Ted Sheedy - Goalkeeper, Washington & Lee

Second Team:
Brian Walter - Forward, Roanoke
Chris Thomas - Forward, Bridgewater
David Burley - Forward, Hampden-Sydney
Kyle Garcia - Forward, Washington & Lee
Ben Yoder - Midfield, Eastern Mennonite
Evan Small - Midfield, Virginia Wesleyan
John Costello - Midfield, Bridgewater
Junior Kamandua - Midfield, Eastern Mennonite
Rhett McCraw - Midfield, Washington & Lee
Will Robbins - Defender, Hampden-Sydney
Patrick Brown - Defender, Lynchburg
Kerry Burke - Defender, Hampden-Sydney
Travis Cober - Defender, Virginia Wesleyan
Marcus Jordan - Goalkeeper, Lynchburg

Honorable Mentions:
Peter Hanley - Randolph-Macon
Andy Beckel - Roanoke
Tim Basom - Bridgewater
Chris O' Conner - Emory & Henry
Kyle Williams - Virginia Wesleyan
Zane Campbell - Guilford
Casey Zambor - Lynchburg
Greg Danahy - Hampden-Sydney
Jackson Maust - Eastern Mennonite
J.D. McDermott - Washington & Lee

Player of the Year:
Eric Eversole, Roanoke College

Rookie of the Year:
Brandon Massie, Virginia Wesleyan

Coach of the Year:
Chris Yeager, Lynchburg

Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Greg Smith, Hampden-Sydney