Wash. and Lee’s Tabb Named Women’s Tennis Top Player

Generals' Ishida, RC's White, BC's Teeter Earn High Honors

SALEM, Va. --- Washington and Lee University added to its sixth straight ODAC women's tennis championship with a pair of the top honors amongst 2008 Women's Tennis All-ODAC teams.  The Generals' Katie Tabb was named the sport's Player of the Year while W&L mentor Eric Ishida was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Roanoke College's Kelsey White was award the Rookie of the Year honor while Hilary Teeter from Bridgewater College was voted the ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  Lynchburg College was tabbed with the team sportsmanship award.

Tabb, a junior from Minneapolis, Minn., was a perfect 5-0 at #1 singles in the ODAC play.  Overall, she posted a spring singles mark of 13-2, all from the first position.  She posted several notable victories including wins against the regionally and/or nationally-ranked Gabriela Carvalho (Sewanee), Rebecca Morse-Karzen (Mary Washington), Tshema Nash (Emory), Meghan Damico (Denison), Jenni White (Gustavus Adolphus) and Rachel Loeb (Skidmore).  In doubles action, Tabb is a perfect 18-0 at the top spot.  She has won 15 times when partnering with Lauren Caire, twice with Leah Weston, and once more with Catherine Reed.

Ishida inherited the reigning national champion Generals and hasn't missed a beat from his predecessor.  Classified as an interim coach for most of the season, Ishida was not only rewarded with an ODAC honor, but was recently promoted to full-time head coach of the W&L program.  Through his guidance, the Generals have posted a perfect 23-0 spring record (1-0 in one fall dual match) while playing a very difficult schedule that included matches against at least 10 nationally-ranked opponents.

Roanoke's White, from Providence, Rhode Island, posted an 8-8 overall record at #1 singles in her first collegiate campaign.  She was also 5-4 in ODAC play.  White played with three different partners throughout the year, posting a personal-best 4-3 mark when side-by-side with Kristin Nagy.  She and Nagy were 4-2 at #2 doubles.

Teeter, a senior from Gettysburg, Pa., boasts a 3.761 grade point average while majoring in communication studies.  On the court, she has been an ODAC Player of the Week three times during her career including once in 2008.  This season, Teeter posted a 9-8 record at #1 singles including a 6-3 showing in conference action.  She and partner Diana Ricker were a perfect 8-0 at #1 doubles in league play, 12-2 overall.

Listed below are the entire 2008 Women's Tennis All-ODAC teams.  For more information, visit the ODAC on the Internet at www.odaconline.com.

2008 Women's Tennis All-ODAC Teams

Player of the Year: Katie Tabb, Washington and Lee
Coach of the Year: Eric Ishida, Washington and Lee
Rookie of the Year: Kelsey White, Roanoke
ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Hilary Teeter, Bridgewater
Team Sportsmanship Award: Lynchburg

All-ODAC First Team Singles
Maggie Bai - Hollins
Imee Bautista - Virginia Wesleyan
Lauren Caire - Washington and Lee
Megan Crook - Virginia Wesleyan
Jessica Hill - Bridgewater
Alissa Michael - Bridgewater
Maria Migliarese - Roanoke
Meg Spalitta - Washington and Lee
Katie Tabb - Washington and Lee
Rebecca Timmis - Washington and Lee
Leah Weston - Washington and Lee
Kelly Will - Washington and Lee 

All-ODAC First Team Doubles
Maggie Bai /Nathalie Faure - Hollins
Imee Bautista/Megan Crook - Virginia Wesleyan
Alissa Michael/Kelly O'Connell - Bridgewater
Lauren Musick/Savanah Tickle - Emory & Henry
Katie Tabb/Lauren Caire - Washington and Lee
Hilary Teeter/Diana Ricker - Bridgewater

All-ODAC Second Team Singles
Caroline Byrd - Sweet Briar
Sarah Budrus - Hollins
Virginia Edahl - Sweet Briar
Nathalie Faure - Hollins
Krizia Gravina - Roanoke
Megan Mathias - Bridgewater
Marlena Pipkin - Bridgewater
Diana Ricker - Bridgewater
Whitney Robinson - Randolph Macon
Mary Sheridan - Hollins
Hilary Teeter - Bridgewater
Kelsey White - Roanoke

All-ODAC Second Team Doubles
Anne Ailstock/Sarah Budrus - Hollins
Caroline Byrd/Virginia Edahl - Bridgewater
Jessica Hill/Marlena Pipkin - Bridgewater
Maria Migliarese/Krizia Gravina - Roanoke
Mary Sheridan/Sarah Sullivan - Hollins
Kelsey White/Kristin Nagy - Roanoke

All-ODAC Honorable Mention Singles
Anne Ailstock - Hollins
Megan Fair - Guilford
Kristen Lenois - Randolph
Karen-Anne McEwen - Randolph-Macon
Sara McEwen - Randolph-Macon
Jessie Moore - Lynchburg
Lauren Musick - Emory & Henry
Kendal Payne - Emory & Henry
Krystal Parrish - Guilford
Sarah Sullivan - Hollins
Windsor Tyler - Randolph-Macon
Meredith Willett - Virginia Wesleyan

All-ODAC Honorable Mention Doubles
Elizabeth Eckert/Krysten Bishop - Lynchburg
Elysia Lopez/Iliana Carrasquillo - Randolph
Catherine Mann/Melissa Zamarin - Roanoke
Sara McEwen/Jessie Bayne - Randolph-Macon
Windsor Tyler/ Karen-Anne McEwen - Randolph-Macon
Lia Williams/Jami Williams - Guilford